Birds of Michigan!

In December, we had our first ever art opening in the Farmhouse Deli in Douglas, Michigan to sell our bird paintings which we had been working on for the past 2 years.

We opened the show with 12 paintings a piece, 24 in total. The evening of the opening we sold 14 paintings and we got many commissions! We chose donate 20% of the money we earned to a local organization that works super hard to protect our local dunes. The name of the organization is the Saugatuck Dunes Coastal Alliance – this is a link to their website if you want to learn more about them: http://www.saugatuckdunescoastalalliance.com

Here’s how our painting process works. My little sister (she’s 7) makes her paintings by tracing the outline of the bird from a photo we find online. Then, she adds in all the color and detail.  I (I’m 11) paint my birds freehand…and add in all the detail as I go. I recently discovered if I paint the backgrounds FIRST, it makes it a lot easier! Sometimes my Mom helps detail the eyes for both my sister and me. They are tricky!! We like to paint the backgrounds realistically and then sometimes not.

We keep adding new paintings as they sell, so come on down to the Farmhouse in Douglas, Michigan, have a DELICIOUS, healthy lunch and check them out!

http://www.thefarmhousedeli.com

IMG_3263

Some of my sister’s paintings:

IMG_3686

IMG_3246

5 thoughts on “Birds of Michigan!

Leave a Reply

